Read the Competition Annoucement

The Winners of XXII Edition of Concorso are…

Maestro Nicola Sani presided the committee, with the Azerbaijani composer Günay Mirzayeva, the composer Girolamo Deraco, in addition to the choreographer Francesco Nappa, and the artistic director of the Competition Fabrizio Festa. They boardawarded the following prizes:
First Prize to Alessio Manega, twenty six year old composer and guitarist, with the score titled “Sincretesi Prima“, a piece avowedly progressive, openly inspired to that season of the Italian jazz-rock that had for protagonists groups such as PFM, New Trolls, Area, Perigeo. The theme of the ballet, however, refersto that seasonas well. It is a story of deportation, in which the protagonist is forcibly removed from hishomeland. Nevertheless he does not losehope, and continues to look for a better future.
Second Prize to  Giuseppe Ricotta, his work refers to the history of music and dance from the title: “Quattro Fauni in Fuga dal Tempo”. The faun –whoinspired Debussy and Nijinsky -, is now back into a playful score, all woven around a real fairy tale.
The third prize has been awarded to the French composer Matthieu Lechowski. “Le Grillage” is the title of his score, or: The Fence, this story has a political nature too.
The Jury also decided to award special mentions to two Russian composers: Danila Eliseev and Ilia Skibinsky.


Nicola Sani (Italy) – President
Francesco Nappa (Italy)
Günay Mirzayeva (Azerbaijan)
Girolamo Deraco (Italy)
Fabrizio Festa (Italy) – Artistic Director


Like every year, the winning operas of the International Composing Competition “2 Agosto” will be performed live during the great Concert in Piazza Maggiore in Bologna.

The Concert will take place at 9.15 pm on August 2nd 2016, as the closing act of the celebrations for the day in memory of the Victims of the Bologna Train Station Bombing of 1980.

Below the program of the evening:

Francesco Maggio
Di Morsi e Rimorsi
commissioned by the International Composing Competition “2 Agosto”
–  First performance

Giuseppe Ricotta
Quattro Fauni in Fuga dal tempo

Matthieu Lechowski
Le Grillage

Alessio Manega
Sincretesi Prima

A project by Francesco Nappa, Luca Centola, Simona Spinella and Fabrizio Festa
commissioned by the International Composing Competition “2 Agosto”
Music composed by: Antonio Colangelo, Gianpaolo Cassano, Manuel Tricarico.
– First performance

Dance Company Körper
Director of the company – Gennaro Cimmino
Coreography – Francesco Nappa
Costumes – Tanja Libermann, Francesco Nappa
Coreuti – Giulia Insinna, Alessia di Maio, Antonietta Dalmini, Sara Lupoli, Aniello Giglio, Antonino Grasso, Christian Pellino, Nicolas Grimaldi Capitello


Set designer – Luca Centola, Simona Spinella
Video director – Antonio Colangelo


Orchestra of the Teatro Comunale of Bologna
Isabella Fabbri  – Saxophones
Domenico Caliri  – Electric Guitar
Francesco La Capra  – Electric Bass
Francesco Rondinone  – Drums
Alessandro Cadario – Orchestra Conductor


A sincere thank you for the precious collaboration goes to Marco Brunetti, Elisa Tummillo, Johanna Curti, Tommaso Schiuma, IAC – Centro delle Arti Integrate and the Music  Academy “Duni” of Matera.